Nageshwar Reddy - ELTS
Don’t _miss

Wire Festival

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Nullam blandit hendrerit faucibus turpis dui.


What are you looking for?

Nageshwar Reddy



Chairman & Chief of Gastroenterology, India


Dr D Nageshwar Reddy is currently the Chairman of Asian Institute of Gastroenterology, Hyderabad, India.  Past President of World Endoscopy Organization.

He graduated from Kurnool Medical College obtaining internal medicine, Masters in Madras Medical College and D.M in Gastroenterology from PGIMER, Chandigarh. He subsequently worked as a Professor of Gastroenterology in Andhra Pradesh Health Sciences before setting up Asian Institute of Gastroenterology, a tertiary care Gastro intestinal Specialties Hospital.

His main area of research interest has been in G.I. Endoscopy particularly in Therapeutic Pancreatic Biliary Endoscopy and Innovations in Transgastric Endoscopic Surgery.  He has published over 810 papers in National & International Peer review journals and has contributed chapters in 28 International Text Books of Gastroenterology and has edited 10 G.I. Endoscopy Text Books.  He is on the Editorial Board of Gastrointestinal Endoscopy, Digestive Endoscopy, World Journal of Gastroenterology, World Gastroenterology News, Gastroenterology Today, Recent Patents on Medical Imaging, and  He is the peer reviewer of the Journals like Lancet, Gastrointestinal Endoscopy, Endoscopy, World Journal of Gastroenterology, Journal of Gastroenterology & Hepatology and Indian Journal of Gastroenterology.  He was the President of Society of Gastrointestinal Endoscopy of India in 2001.  He has been a visiting faculty for over 200 international endoscopy workshops and forum member of Asian Endoscopy Masters Forum. He has been recognized for his achievements by several societies.   He received the B C Roy Award from the Indian Medical Council in 1995. He received PADMA SHRI AWARD from Government of India in 2002.  He has been elected as honorary member for American Society of Gastrointestinal Endoscopy in 2004, Fellow of National Academy of Medical Sciences, New Delhi in 2001, Fellow of Philippines Society of Gastroenterology in 2001, Fellow of Royal College of Physicians of Ireland in 2003, and is a recipient of Honorary Doctor in Sciences (D.S.C) from Nagarjuna University in 2005.   He has given several named orations including The Francisco Roman oration of Philippines Society of Gastroenterology 2002, Dr Panner Selvam Memorial Oration of Malaysian Society of Gastroenterology in 2006, Kees Huibregtse Oration of 15th International Symposium on Pancreatio Biliary Endoscopy, Los Angeles 2007, Sir Francis Avery Jones Professorship in St. Marks, London 2008, Peter Gilispje oration, Australia 2010. Joseph Sung Memorial Lecture – Hong Kong Organised by IDDF 2015.  He received the   Master Endoscopist Award from A.S.G.E in 2009, ASGE International Leadership Award in 2011 and Fellow of American College of Gastroenterology in 2012. He received the highest Award Master of World Gastroenterology Organization from World Gastroenterology Organization in 2014. In 2015 he received honorary fellowship and life time memberships from Hong Kong society of Gastroenterology, Singapore Society of Gastroenterology, Indonesia Society of Gastroenterology, Columbia Society of Gastroenterology and Hungarian Society of Gastroenterology. He was the Secretary General of World Endoscopy Organization and subsequent President of World Endoscopy Organization. He received PADMA BHUSHAN AWARD from Government of India in 2016. He received ASGE President’s Award – American Society of Gastroenterology (DDW Crystal Awards) in 2020. He is awarded Fellow of American Gastroenterological Association (FAGA) in 2020. He is awarded Fellow of Japan Gastroenterological Endoscopy Society (JGES) in 2020. He is awarded Fellow of American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) 2020. He is awarded Rudolf Schindler award by ASGE 2021. He is awarded with Life time achievement award from the World Endoscopy Organisation (WEO), 2021. He is awarded with Honorary Doctorate from Dr. NTR University of Health Sciences, AP, 2022. He is awarded with Life time achievement award (Distinguished Educator Award) from the American Gastroenterology Association 2022. He is awarded with Master of the Indian Society of Gastroenterology 2022.